The Sad Story Of the Little Hammer

Posted: May 9, 2012 in Tools
Tags: , , , , , ,

So about that hammer…DSCF1548

Amongst the haul of tools I recently purchased was a small and curious hammer.  Quite old, it has an interesting shape with an octagonal section, one slightly rounded face and a cross pein.  Both peins have a lot of reach.  I’ve never seen one like it but it looks like it might be a very useful tool.  Currently sans handle, I thought I’d have a bit of a google and see if I can find one.

It’s marked with the makers name and a small symbol which I couldn’t really make out.  So I searched for the makers name George Barnsley, Sheffield and soon realised that the symbol is a shoe.  The hammer is from a do it yourself shoe repair kit.

The website I discovered this from is the interesting and sad part of the story.  Dedicated to urban exploration, the site has details of the makers workshops in Sheffield, world renowned for the finest steel, the home of Henry Bessemer’s famous “converters” and the cradle of steel mass production since the industrial revolution.  As a photographer I was impressed by the wonderfully gritty images and moved by the evocative story they tell.  Take a look and mourn the sad passing of British industry.   http://urbandegeneration.com/george-barnsley-and-sons-ltd-sheffield-may-june-2011/

Leave a comment