This 12” Disc Is Heavy Metal…

Posted: March 24, 2012 in 500, Tools
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Funny how one small job leads to another isn’t it.  Tyre wear on the 500 means I need to track it.  My home made tracking gauges will work on the 15” wheels of the 500 (more on this at a later date!).  But it’s real pain setting the tracking without radius plates, so….To the bay of E.

OK, so a set of radius plates will run me to about £400!  I’ve got some 2mm plate left from making my benches and a big box of ball bearings.  Some scrap MDF and some 1.6mm sheet.  Sounds like the recipe for radius plates to me.

First I need to cut some circles.  Two discs of 10mm thick MDF with a series of holes to retain the bearings.  Bought radius plates often just have a ring of ball bearings, spring loaded to keep them on centre.  Because my discs will only be 2mm thick I want a bit more support than that.  And I have got a LOT of bearings, so let’s not be tight. So the first job is to make a circle cutting jig for the band saw.  Just something functional for now, I’ll polish it later. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then two discs of 2mm thick steel plate, so I need to make a trammel for my plasma cutter from whatever is in the scrap bin.  Then zip out a couple of 12” discs.  (I appreciate that only people of a certain maturity will know what Heavy Metal is and only those that are older still will appreciate the 12” disc gag).  Finally bend some C section channels in the mini folding brake to make a frame around the outside.  Then it’s just a case of assembling the puzzle and applying a lick of paint.

Tomorrow, after the Grand Prix, I’ll actually set the tracking!

Leave a comment